Skip to content

Rocking the House at Heinz Field!

January 13, 2009

I’m not sure what to say today.  Really.

Who was that team?  Where did that offense come from?  Suddenly there are my Steelers!  I hope I have to take back all the trash I have been talking about the O-line all season.  Sure, I am not the only one who has been all over them, but when it counts – there they were.  Now, if they can do that next week….and two weeks after that….oh, a “gurl” can dream…

The facts:

Santonio Holmes had a 67 yard return for a TD.

Heath Miller had a TD.

Willie Parker had a TD along with 146 yards rushing in 27 carries.

Gary Russel had a TD.

Hines Ward makes big plays when he needs to and had a 41 yard catch taken to insde the 5.

The interception by Larry Foote.

Ben threw 17 of 26 for 181 yards.

San Diego is a good team.  But Steelers defense was able to pretty much shut down Sproles running game.

One game at a time….one week at a time.

Now on to the Ravens.

I’ve been invited to “guest post” on a Ravens blog…so I am saving all of my thoughts about next weeks game for that post.  Of course, I will link it back and I’ve asked the Ravens “gurl” to be a Guest on this blog.  This should be fun…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. mdbirdlover permalink
    January 15, 2009 1:40 am

    How is the injury list for the Steelers?
    The Ravens are not healthy at all, so you might have a serious advantage come Sunday.
    Big hurts for us are:

    Suggs, aka T-Sizzle (shoulder, did not play in second half of Tenn game)
    Samari Rolle, reinjured a groin pull and it’s going to be tough to recover from that
    Le’Ron Mclain- he’s a pounder and scrappy running back (ankle)

    They’ve got a taste in their mouth from some Rothlis”burger’ though! T-Sizzle is going to play, mark my words, but our secondary has holes in it’s coverage for sure due to the injuries…

  2. steelergurl permalink*
    January 15, 2009 3:38 am

    Only thing hanging right now is Troy has a bruised calf. He’s sched to play though practice light the next couple days….

    I think T-sizzle will play and he should. Gets paid way too much $$ to sit on the sidelines 🙂

  3. January 16, 2009 4:42 pm

    I was pretty surprised to see the offensive output from the Steelers as well. Not that they’re never capable of it, they just hadn’t done much all year like that. Does help to get Parker back and relatively healthy. That and the Chargers were clearly never going to do anything worthwhile in the cold and snow. I’m looking forward to seeing what Pittsburgh can do against a much better Ravens team.

    Oh, and I don’t hate the Steelers. I just grew up with a dad who was a Browns fan. I like the blog though, very intensive. Much more so than mine 🙂

    • steelergurl permalink*
      January 16, 2009 4:54 pm

      Hey there! Thanks – the blog is “okay” if I ever find a lot more time, it will be better 🙂
      The only thing I can think in the back of my head is that the post-season Steelers are typically better than the regular season Steelers.
      If they play like last week and get beat, well at least they played their hearts out. But if they come in with that half-assed attempt and lose, well, no one to blame but themselves.
      I think they have found some steam though and will keep on rolling.
      I’d love to see them win this week and move on to the next round.
      It’s time to get #6….let’s start filling out a new hand with rings 🙂

  4. January 16, 2009 7:39 pm

    Yeah, I don’t expect anything but a hardcore game from them against the Ravens. If it was against someone else maybe, but they seem to really hate Baltimore. Which I do too, so I really wouldn’t be too sad to see them go either, haha.

    But you’re right, your Steelers do seem to turn it up a notch in the playoffs, at least over the past few years. It should be a brutal, snowy, cold game but I think Pittsburgh comes out on top.

  5. mdbirdlover permalink
    January 17, 2009 4:20 am

    I heard on the radio today that Hines Ward actually was quoted during a press conference as saying something about hatred toward the Ravens…is that true?

    Damn if it is….

    • steelergurl permalink*
      January 17, 2009 1:49 pm

      According to the Post-Gazette, here’s what Hines said:

      “Pure hatred for one another,” Hines Ward said earlier this week, describing the feelings.

      But, in the next breath, Ward uttered a more succinct clarification of the temperature that, real or imagined, permeates the rivalry.

      “It’s not like we’re going to go outside the stadium and fight each other,” said the four-time Pro Bowl receiver who has been involved in 20 of these meetings with the Ravens, only once before in the playoffs. “It’s not going to be any of that.”

Leave a Reply

