Skip to content

The Steelers visit the White House

May 22, 2009

 

 

(prefacing this post with the fact that I am pissy and had a bad day!)

Wow, what a day, the Steelers visit the White House.  I work a block from the White House and was excited to know that they would be coming to my city today.  Last night, in preparation, I packed my #10 jersey in support of Santonio’s Super Bowl winning touchdown and confirmed their arrival time with my NFL contact – covering all bases.  I was READY today.

So, I get to the White House and I realized one thing I didn’t know – which gate they would be entering.  First, I asked the Secret Service (uniformed) guards at the gate closest to my office where the best place to get a picture would be…to which they replied, “No pictures for Steelers fans, this is DC…you should be a Skins fan.”

WTF? Seriously, that’s what they said…

So, I take my butt along the street on 15th and Penn heading to the front of the White House  heading toward the West gate when I run into a couple more Steelers fans.  They tell me the guards there told them to go to where I had just been…we decide to walk together back in that direction.

It was a beautiful day I will add. Sunny, warm – borderline hot in the DMV. We see lots more guards lined up at the gate the President comes in so we ask them, “Will we be able to get some good pictures if we stand here?” Nope they tell us, no pictures here.  So, we walk along the back, by the ellipse and each step of the way we ask whoever we run into. Each time, no pictures here. Finally, we’re behind the Old Executive Office Building and we hear the sirens, the motorcycles and general noise of the motorcade. 

Yup, all those police/secret service etc lied.  The Steelers entered the very first gate where I had asked.  Now, keep in mind this is OUTSIDE the gates. It’s tourist central.  It’s not like you can’t norally walk in these areas.  Those guys were just being assholes.  In fact, as I RAN back to where I had initially been, I could have sworn I heard “Run Steelergurl, Run!”  Ha ha. I am sure they enjoyed watching me run all around the damn ellipse as much as I enjoyed the cardio. 

 

Bastards made me run around this fence and you see that bus!

Bastards made me run around this fence and you see that bus!

I am sure this post sounds whiny and silly all at the same time.  But here’s why I am mad….remember when I said they were asking why I wasn’t a Skins fan?  Well, look at these pics…you see all that Steelers paraphanalia?  These same whiny ass men were the same ones who were kissing Coach Tomlin’s ass to get an autograph. In fact, I got no pictures without them begging someone for an autograph. So much so, that the players had no time to give any attention to us fans. All six of us who showed up (Steeler Nation, what the hell?? But that’s another post altogether).  

 

Begging MY COACH for autographs!!

Begging MY COACH for autographs!!

 

 

 

If there’s one thing I hate, it’s a fake ass bandwagon fan.  Those guys gave me shit about being a Steeler fan until those buses pulled up and while they were watching me run around the freaking ellipse, they were kissing ass to get an autograph.  If I see any of that stuff on ebay I am punching the next Skins fan I see in the neck. No lie.  I’m going to do it.  

This whole thing would be like me seeing Ray Ray in the streets of Baltimore and getting an autograph and NOT giving that right over to Molly (@mdbirdlover), Lee (@tailgate365), Tracy (@mindpinball) or Syreeta (@theNFLChick) – they are REAL Ravens fans and there is no way in hell I would get an autograph from Ray Ray and not give it to one of them (you all can ply me with gifts to decide who gets it btw).

I know it’s going to be a while before the Skins see a championship again, but you didn’t need to talk shit say negative things about my team and then beg for autographs punk ass motherfuckers. Blame Danny boy for your losing team, don’t blame my six time champions who are about to win a 7th.  

 I’m not a fan who runs and screams at cute players, I don’t get obnoxious and I am not into all that “celebrity.”

(Unless I see it on Pigskinlovinglady’s blog.)

I love football and I am FOREVER a Steelers fan. 

No Bullshit.

(As if anyone who reads this blog doesn’t already know that!)

Here are more pictures, best I could do today folks…

 

More Coach...

More Coach...

 

 

 

Big Ben - what in the hell is in that backpack??

Big Ben - what in the hell is in that backpack??

 

 

 

 

 

HInes - this one is specifically for @mdsteelergal

HInes - this one is specifically for @mdsteelergal

 

 

Santonio "Smoov" MVP - I told him not to call me no more - Holmes (this one's for Mark lmao)

Santonio "Smoov" MVP - I told him not to call me no more - Holmes (this one's for Mark lmao)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolinaware permalink
    May 22, 2009 1:30 am

    Good flicks. SMDH @ the guards. Who are them fat dudes guarding anyway? The dude at Dunkin Doughnuts??

    • steelergurl permalink*
      May 22, 2009 1:35 am

      bwaaaahhhaaaahhhaaa killing me tonight. Dunkin Donuts lololol

  2. May 22, 2009 1:43 am

    Is this a good time to quote NWA and say “Fck the Police”? lol I’m glad they made the experience even more memorable with their hating. We”ll stage a walk-by in January when the Redskins are missing the playoffs yet again!

    P.S. I want to rub Mike Tomlin’s cheeks….

  3. tat2dsteelergal permalink
    May 22, 2009 7:35 am

    JEALOUSY combined with hunger…that’s all that was. Had you brought a pizza with you or somethin you probably woulda been aight! What do you think is in Ben’s bookbag…SNACKS! That’s what’s attracting them to him…they can smell the cupcakes and the fruit roll ups…

  4. steelergurl permalink*
    May 22, 2009 11:32 am

    @Tat, you know what, I bet you have a point. I probably could have distracted them with pizza. *oh, look shiny object, is it a bomb?* Silly ass men. I know they LOVED that I had to run from Point A out around that fence to the monument and then back up to where the buses were. I felt like an ass…with my camera and all…

    The more I look at these pictures, and I am glad I have them, don’t get me wrong, but it gets me mad because ONLY Coach and Santonio even acknowledged us. Those police had them hemmed up from the minute those buses pulled in. I get really heated by fake ass fans. As if you couldn’t tell.

    @Jos – Coach is even cuter up close and personal. He was sitting in the bus and I was standing by myself- I could see him, so I waved and he waved back….then all the damn crazy fans (3 of them) came running over to see what I was doing. Can a girl just wave to the damn coach or what? Sheesh.

    Oh, and ‘Ton only paid attention because I had on the #10. Plus, this brother was on the phone the entire time? (who the hell is he talking to??)

  5. May 22, 2009 3:44 pm

    Good God almighty… where did they get their pants from?! It looks like they got them from Costco and all in the same size! :p

    At least Santonio had the dignity to wear his own pair of slacks.

  6. mantho permalink
    May 30, 2009 8:08 pm

    I work at the Pentagon and get the same crap from the cops there. They always tell me to take the Steelers signs off my car (as if!) and follow the Skins. My response is always the same. We gave them one of our best receivers and those boneheads don’t know how to use him. How can you waste a talent like Randall El and expect anyone to take you seriously?

Leave a Reply

