Skip to content

NFL’s Top 10 defenses

June 18, 2009

steelers_080914_WIDETomorrow night at 8pm, the NFL Channel will unveil it’s picks for the NFL’s top 10 defenses.  Because I am bored to tears in this offseason and looking for any kind of content to fill the gaps a wanna-be defensive player, I thought it might be fun to do a poll of who YOU think are the top NFL defenses going into the next season.

Comment, hit me on twitter, or email me (steelergurl00@gmail.com – those are zeroes BTW) and let me know your thoughts…

I’ll write up a more meaningful post based on responses and of course, the NFL Channel’s take on top 10 defenses.

Bring it, comments start NOW.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2009 2:46 pm

    1. STEELERS 2.Ravens 3. Bears 4. New England 5. San Diego 6. Miami 7. Minnesota 8. Giants 9. Jacksonville 10. Tennessee
    And we go back to the SUPER BOWL for #7!

  2. WyoFan permalink
    June 18, 2009 3:28 pm

    1.)Steelers!
    2.)Eagles
    3.)Ravens
    4.)Redskins
    5.)Giants
    6.)Bengals
    7.)Jets
    8.)Vikings
    9.)Titans
    10.)Cowboys
    Of course, the Steelers are number one again (I have a good feeling about Ziggy). Next you would think the Crows, but I think I saw Ray-ray slowing down last season, AND, Ryan is gone (He is why I put the Jets at 7). I’m even a little uncomfortable leaving the Crows at three, but I’m giving them the benifit of the doubt. Philly isn’t getting any worse with Johnson running the defense, their front four are beasts. The Redskins were ranked number four at the end of last season. Hainsworth didn’t make them worse. The Vikings have dropped with the possibility of the Williams’ getting four game suspensions. That is a huge blow to their defense. The Giants get some pass rushing beasts back from injury but lose their defensive coordinator. Hmmm…tough call, but I’m leaving them high on the list. All the writers like to talk about the Bengals every off season and are dissapointed every season, but Cincinati just has too much defensive talent for me not to elevate them this year. And, the were 12th at the end of last season. Titans get worse with the subtraction of Hainsworth, but are still good. As always, the Cowboys hang in there, but look bad doing it.

    As I looked back at last years defensive leaders I noticed that the Steelers played all but two of the top ten defenses last year (The Steelers being one of them).

    • Rob (JUS_chillin) permalink
      June 18, 2009 3:50 pm

      Wyofan has Bungles @ #6,must be personal..lol

  3. Rob (JUS_chillin) permalink
    June 18, 2009 3:46 pm

    1.STEELERS 2.Giants 3.Ravens 4.Cardinals 5.Titans 6.Dolphins 7.Chargers 8.Eagles 9.Vikings 10.Pats

    I wanna put the Bears in & take Eagles out…This is really hard..lol

  4. Lucky permalink
    June 18, 2009 5:13 pm

    Not to rain on anyone’s parade, but usually when the NFL Network has these Top 10 lists, it consists of all-time things. For example, the Top 10 receivers had Jerry Rice and such. So I think they’ll have past year defenses, the the Purple People Eaters and the Steel Curtain. So include the team and year.

  5. June 18, 2009 5:19 pm

    Ummm.. these are All Time defenses guys…. My Guess is (In no order):
    85 Bears
    Purple People Eater Vikings
    Steel Curtain
    2000 Ravens
    will all be on this list

    *edit I see Lucky and I are on the same page LOL

    • WyoFan permalink
      June 18, 2009 6:00 pm

      I thought so at first too, but I went back and read what the Gurl wrote and saw that is was not specific. I liked what the WCSteelersfan did and I built on that. Since the top ten defenses of all time is discussed every year, I thought the topic would be where the 08 Steelers fit in the all time list – if it were an all time list. To invent a Tomlinism of my own, “You want to talk about history, I’m concerned with the future”. lol

  6. June 18, 2009 5:44 pm

    This should be good (also in no order)

    2000 Ravens
    86 Bears
    Mid-late 70’s Steelers
    Purple People Eaters
    Dolphins “no name” defense

  7. steelergurl permalink*
    June 18, 2009 10:09 pm

    It does not have to be all time, in fact, would prefer for next year. The show will do all time, but this ain’t the NFL Channel, this is Steelergurl channel, so I do what I like… 🙂

    That said, since there’s a little of both, I will make it a little of both too…

    Whoever else comments, you can do either next year or all time…makes no difference, I can work with it.

    Thanks!

  8. June 19, 2009 12:33 am

    Hmmm, since I am NOT a Pittsburgh Steeeeeeeler fan, I can not give credit where credit is due. Really can make an argument for spots, but it’s hard mixing them in.

    1. Bears ’85
    2. Ravens ’00
    3. Ravens NOW
    4. Steelers NOW
    5. Bears NOW
    6. Tampa Bay ’02
    7. Eagles NOW
    8. Vikings NOW
    9. Giants NOW
    10. Giants ’90

  9. June 19, 2009 12:59 am

    For next season, huh?

    Well I can safely say it won’t be the Browns. 😦

    1. Giants
    2. Titans
    3. Steelers
    4. Ravens
    5. Iggles
    6. Vikings
    7. Cards
    8. Pats
    9. Panthers
    10. Dolphins

  10. June 19, 2009 1:02 am

    Sooo I’m not an all knowing “sports blogger” just a football fan since mama’s womb, crappin in a Cleveland Brown’s t-shirt as a diaper and wrapped in a terrible towel for comfort and warmth…but enough about my folks parenting habits…

    DEFENSE DEFENSE!

    I’m rollin with the NOW as in this coming season.

    1. STEELERS (Ziggy gon BRING IT)
    2. Ravens (hate to admit, they bring it)
    3. Titans
    4. Dolphins (will always be a JOEY fan, have a feeling they will do well)
    5. Giants
    6. Cardinals
    7. Vikings
    8. Colts (got a feeling about them too this year, new coaching!)
    9. Chargers
    10. Bears

    Ok so there you have it…maaaybe the order switched a lil but my boys always on top. 😀

    *fistpounds steelergurl*

  11. June 19, 2009 1:37 am

    1. Ravens
    2. Steelers
    3. Vikings
    4. Titans
    5. Giants
    6. Cowboys
    7. Bears
    8. Panthers
    9. Cardinals
    10. Eagles

    • JBoyFreshhh permalink
      June 21, 2009 5:06 pm

      Ravens ahead of the steelers in defense? After losing Rex Ryan, the brains behind their defense, and Jim Leonhard and Bart Scott? No way. The steel curtain reigned supreme in he 70’s and now it’ll dominate the 2000’s!!

  12. The NFL Chick permalink
    June 21, 2009 10:00 pm

    @JBoyFreshhh, I understand your shock on his picks, but please don’t bring in Rex and Bart to support it. Rex came after Lewis and Nolan as DCs and if I remember we had an All Time and a Top 5 defense during their tenure. Bart Scott = Ed Hartwell (replaceable) and Leonard hardly sees the field if Landry isn’t hurt. As long as Ngata, Lewis and Reed play on this defense, we will always be highly regarded.

    But I agree the Steelers have the better D for the moment

    • JBoyFreshhh permalink
      June 29, 2009 8:45 pm

      I can see your point about replaceable players, but for now, as you said, the steelers do have the better defense, probably the best in the league going into 2009.

Trackbacks

  1. High Scorers: Pittsburgh Envy « Mind Pinball
  2. Daily Toke: Cellphones are the only subject on which men boast about whose got the smallest | Hail Mary Jane
  3. Trident Carrying Case (Holster) for Smartphone – Red | Your #1 Source for Camera, Photo & Video

Leave a Reply

